Have fun with those kids!

This has been on my mind a lot lately.  A Lot.  Specifically about the fact that my kids will only have ONE childhood.  And it goes by so, so fast.

Sometimes I look at them when they are sleeping and think, “Someday I’m going to miss this.”

I’ve started telling myself to embrace this time!  Be fun!

So last week we went to the beach for the whole week.

Why?  Because we homeschool and we can AND because I want my kids to have wonderful memories of their childhood.  I considered it an extended field trip.

I had never been in October and I quickly realized that I’d been missing out!  It is really a beautiful time of year to go.  No crowds, and the weather was very mild.   So while daddy was busy working and also working hard to finish up our new house, we packed our bags, school books, and beach towels and I took MY “work” to the beach.  And we had FUN!  Now it was definitely a lot of work.  It always is when I’m by myself with them.   But it was all worth it because in between all of that was a whole lot of fun!

We did some reading, watched old cartoons, paid a visit to the Maritime Museum and the Ft. Fisher Aquarium, went to the park and went on a nature walk, and played every afternoon on the beach.  We even met up with some old friends who just happened to be staying nearby.  I always love my talks with you Amy M.!

This week we have all been enjoying the Fall weather in all of it’s cool temps and freshness.  I’m glad my kids don’t have to be cooped up inside all day.   I think kids should be allowed to be kids.  Which has also had me rethinking how we do education here at home but that’s another post and I’ll save it for another day.  🙂

I’ll leave you with a few of my favorite pictures from last week.

Leave a Reply

